Saturday, June 26, 2010

Conquering the "nations" with Love

These are the seven nations and the way to conquer them:

Anger: calmness, enjoyment, pleasantness, agreeability, peace
Greed: generosity, kindness, benevolence
Envy: humility, contentedness, self-confidence
Impatience: self-control, ease, endurance, tolerance, acceptance
Imprudence: sense, carefulness, caution, thoughtfulness
Indolence: diligence, dedication, laboriousness
Lust: modesty, temperance, austerity, moderation, frugality

Lust and greed are similar in their aims, which are eventually fulfilled (temporarily). Envy as well as lust and greed are caused by a feeling of lack, although envy is never fulfilled. To envy and to covet are similar in their root. Sages say that Eve's illusory belief that there was something lacking in the Garden of Eden led her to eat from the Tree of Knowledge of Good and Evil. Anger and impatience are caused or motivated by feelings of being unsatisfied with what one is or what one has. Therefore there is no acceptance, no ease, no happiness or peace with what one is or what one has. Imprudence and indolence are rooted in carelessness. If one does not care, there is no interest or concern for anything or anyone.

Negative emotions are usually perceived as evil traits; and indeed they are emotions, not traits. Negative emotions are not overcome by positive emotions but by positive traits or qualities, because emotions by themselves are neutral. This means that emotions in their neutral state must be directed by positive traits. In general, egocentricity is the motivator of all negative traits and emotions. In "God as Love" we say that emotions are neutral by nature, and we described them as "empty vessels" waiting to be filled and directed by our higher levels of consciousness. Therefore either we fill them and direct them with our awareness of Divine Love, or with ego's fantasies and desires. If one covets, he is putting his trust and self-confidence into envy, greed and lust; and if he doesn't get that which he envies and lusts, he will be overcome by impatience and anger that make him imprudent, and ultimately indolent. It is in this context that we understand the saying "sin is the punishment itself".

We also mentioned in the book that, in addition to the emotions, the remaining aspects or levels of consciousness are also empty vessels that include intellect, mind, feelings, passions, the five senses, and instincts. Our intellect must fill (instruct) our mind with common sense, practical ideas and righteous principles inspired by Love's ways and attributes. Our mind fills (directs) the emotions with positive thoughts. Emotions will fill our senses inviting them to embrace the passion and excitement in the body, making speech and action the tangible manifestation of Love.

Sages teach that the positive traits that redeem the negative emotions are loving kindness, awe, compassion, confidence, honesty, loyalty, and humbleness. Other Sages consider that those traits are actually the natural state of emotions, and they end up being misdirected by ego's fantasies and illusions. This means loving the wrong ideas, people or situations; revering and respecting bigots and prejudiced people; being compassionate with criminal behavior and the wicked; trusting false beliefs and devoting loyalty to negative people; and being humble and meek when the situation demands courage and determination.

Most people believe that traits have a dual quality, and one directs them either way depending on his character. Instead of loving good and positive actions, he loves destructive habits or additions; he rather be arrogant than humble; instead of trusting his solid principles he rather believes in glamorous or shallow behavior; and he lies in order to make others believe in his ego's fantasies. We all are aware that there are certain factors that determine people's beliefs and behaviors, mainly cultural patterns, ideologies, social and economic status, educational level, and family values. In Judaism those are subjected to ethical principles, meaning that our line of thought, emotional responses, passions and instincts are submitted to these principles. And they are based on G-d's Love for all His Creation, and His Commandments for us to be and do His ways and attributes.

We also mentioned in "God as Love" that emotions are the axis that maintains the balance of all levels of consciousness. As long as we keep our emotions filled with the Truth, we will be true to ourselves, to others, and our surroundings; and the Truth is Love. No matter what, we must fill our emotions and all levels of consciousness with Love in order to be Love and manifest Love, which is the mission that He commands us to do.

No comments:

Post a Comment

From the Book's Foreword

Let's reexamine our ancestral memory, intellect, feelings, emotions and passions. Let's wake them up to our true Essence. Let us engage in the delightful awareness of Love as the Essence of G-d. The way this book is written is to reaffirm and reiterate its purpose, so it presents its message and content in a recurrent way. This is exactly its purpose, to restate the same Truth originally proclaimed by our Holy Scriptures, Prophets and Sages. Our purpose is to firmly enthrone G-d's Love in all dimensions of our consciousness, and by doing it we will fulfill His Promise that He may dwell with us on Earth forever. Let's discover together the hidden message of our ancient Scriptures and Sages. In that journey, let's realize Love as our Divine Essence, what we call in this book the revealed Light of Redemption in the Messianic era.